Understanding the Skills Pass: A Comprehensive Guide

The Maltese government has introduced new regulations requiring employees in the tourism and hospitality sector to complete the Skills Pass. This initiative aims to standardize and enhance the quality of service in Malta’s vibrant tourism industry. Here’s everything you need to know about the Skills Pass, its phases, and the requirements.


Overview of the Skills Pass

The Skills Pass is mandatory for all employees working in Malta Tourism Authority (MTA) licensed environments. It ensures that workers possess the necessary skills and knowledge to maintain high service standards. The process is divided into two phases, focusing on online training and verification.


Phase One: Online Training and Assessment


1. Registration

Candidates must register on the online platform dedicated to the Skills Pass.


2. Modules

After registration, candidates purchase and complete various online verification modules. These include:

  • Verification of English Proficiency
  • Courses on Hospitality
  • Essential English
  • The Maltese Tourism Product
  • Verification in the Chosen Field of Work


3. Assessments

The mandatory assessments include:

  • English Proficiency Test
  • Basic Customer Care
  • Basic Maltese Tourism Product Course
  • Basic English for Hospitality Course

Candidates also choose one occupation-specific module from options such as Luggage Porter, Receptionist, Bar Waiter, General Attendant, Commis Chef, or Commis de Rang. For roles not listed, the ‘Other’ option is available, requiring a written question response instead.


4. Completion and Confirmation

Successful candidates receive a Phase 1 Confirmation, certifying the completion of the online assessment.


Phase Two: Online Interview and Verification


1. Scheduling the Interview

After completing Phase One, candidates book an online verification interview. An assessor confirms the booking and provides instructions via email.


2. Interview Procedure

On the interview day, candidates attend the online interview via video conferencing:

Non-EU/EEA/EFTA Nationals Requiring Visa: Attend the interview at the nearest VFS Centre.

Non-EU/EEA/EFTA Nationals Not Requiring Visa: Visit the Institute of Tourism Studies in Malta for the interview.


3. Issuance of Skills Pass

Upon successful completion of the interview, candidates receive the permanent Skills Pass, enabling them to work in Malta’s hospitality and tourism sector.


Key Details and General Rules

Payment Options: Courses can be purchased using PayPal or credit card.

Exam Retakes: One free re-sit is provided for failed exams; additional re-sits are available for a fee.

Completion Timeframe: Phase 1 must be completed within 42 days, with extensions available for purchase.

Registration Categories: Various categories exist for self-registration or registration by an entity (e.g., MTA licensed establishments, education institutions).


Registration Categories and Fees

Categories for Self-Registration:

Non-EU/EEA/EFTA Nationals: Fees vary based on residency duration and student status, ranging from €335 to €475.

EU/EEA/EFTA Nationals and Maltese: No fee required until 2026.


Categories Requiring Entity Registration:

Sector Skilled Workers

Internship Students

ELT Students


Visa and Residency Implications

Non-EU/EEA/EFTA Nationals: Successful completion of the Skills Pass process qualifies for a one-year residence and work permit, renewable for up to two years, provided specific criteria are met.


Important Dates

March 2024: Legal notice publication.

8th April 2024: Online courses and assessments become available.

6th May 2024: Phase 2 online interviews begin.

28th May 2024: Skills Pass requirement becomes mandatory.

January 2025: Renewal of work permits requires Skills Pass.

January 2026: All tourism and hospitality workers, including EU/Maltese nationals, will need a Skills Pass.


Additional Information


Skills Pass Validity and Renewal:

The Skills Pass is permanent for the specific occupation it was issued for.

Changing jobs within the same occupation does not require a new Skills Pass. However, changing occupations within the sector necessitates obtaining a new Skills Pass for the new role.


Phase 1 Modules:

Consist of English Proficiency, Customer Care, Maltese Tourism Product, and Essential English courses.

Completion grants a three-year validity before needing to proceed to Phase 2.


Interview Requirements:

Non-EU/EEA/EFTA nationals residing abroad or in Malta for less than a year must pass the Phase 2 interview.


Portal and Exam Details:

The Skills Pass portal manages the entire process from registration to certification.

Exams must be completed on the portal, with free re-sits available for initial failures.


Get in touch with HI-Care Services for advice

The Skills Pass is an essential certification for anyone aiming to work in Malta’s tourism and hospitality sector. By standardizing skills and knowledge, it ensures a high level of service and professionalism across the industry. Ensure you register and complete the necessary phases within the stipulated timeframes to secure your place in Malta’s thriving tourism sector. We are here to help, give us a call +356 2033 0129 or send an email [email protected].

Contact Us

If you would like to get more info about our services or request a quote, kindly submit the form below.


Are you interested in changing the job, or maybe you are working on your skills and looking to change industry. We got you covered.

What we do?

We pride ourselves on maintaining a professional approach, ensuring consistency whether you are looking for a new career or searching for staff, in need of premium cleaners or handymen services, or considering outsourcing in general. Rest assured that our resources and drive to exceed expectations will meet all your requirements with exceptional results.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!